, attached to 1999-10-04

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Uncle Pen: Only the third time this had opened a show – last time was 8.30.92 Cal Expo Amp, opening for Carlos. Funky Bitch, Vultures: Both standard. Runaway Jim: Soaring short jam. Jesus Just Left Chicago: 4 white guys from Vermont do this version justice. Limb By Limb, Wilson: Both standard > Down with Disease: Rock gods, absolutely smoked which seems to be the theme for DwD’s on this tour. Keep in under 12 minutes and blister it. First set summary: Very solid set, lots of rock and roll that was full steam ahead. No breathers and no ballads. SET 2: Ghost: Machine Gun Trey in fine fashion. Much like DwD, this Ghost is full steam ahead, no letup – just pedal to the medal the whole way. Arena rock. Extremely impressive work from Trey. Awesome version. > Sample in a Jar, The Wedge > AC/DC Bag: Not a huge fan of this segment smack dab in the middle of the second set… > Makisupa Policeman: Nice, little jam > Sand: Can Sand rescue the set? Not exactly, no. Really good jam but does not break any new ground and stays in the same vein as every on the preceded except the OG from the Gorge which went way out there and dwarfs all other Sands to this point. > Ya Mar: What strange placement. Shows like this make me think they need to have a setlist in place before walking on stage. Character Zero: Rips as you might expect it would. This really is a rock and roll show. ENCORE: Rock and Roll: There you have it, a nod from the band telling us that this show was all about melting faces and less about noodle jams. Second set summary: Lots of problems in the lots with the cops and fear of the venue cancelling the show or shortening the curfew supposedly led to few jams and a hard core rock and roll show. Band blows off steam all show long, impressive really. More than happy to rate this show as a strong 3.75 out of 5.
, attached to 1994-10-31

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ At this point, it's truly impossible to deny the phenomenal grandeur of this band. This show is just [b]big[/b]. The first set boasts a gorgeous Simple, the first of its kind and a wonderful prototype for the song's potential. Hot on its heels is one of the greatest Divided Sky performances out there (2:22-2:26 is also my favorite Mike lick ever). Harpua is an obvious fan favorite, and Julius shreds extra hard. Reba joins Divided Sky as one of the greatest of its kind, notable for its unique quiet jam and slingshot into an all-time finish from Trey. The White Album set is obviously a massive highlight. Though I'd agree with others that this is one of the weaker costume sets from a musical perspective, the fun is endless and this set is owed massive credit for instigating a legendary tradition for Phish and its fans. Cry Baby Cry takes the cake for the best song from this set, in my opinion. Set 3 isn't quite as legendary as some of the Set 1 highlights, but it certainly carries weight with some awesome jamming. The David Bowie intro contains a sneaky Tommy Overture tease from Page--perhaps a hint for Halloween '95? The Bowie jam is wild and reckless, even if Type I. Fishman and Mike drive this one like a freight train. The quiet section in Slave is real pretty, and Antelope closes out with ferocity and chaos (it's a great year for this tune).
, attached to 1999-10-03

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: First Tube, Farmhouse, Dogs Stole Things, Divided Sky, Heavy Things, Horn > Carini, Ginseng Sullivan, Back on the Train, Maze, Bouncing Around the Room > Guyute First set summary: Long set – 88 minutes. Divided Sky is pretty good I thought. Really, everything is well played. Back on the Train seems to lack punch. There is just nothing here that I would ever want to revisit. SET 2: Twist: Nice, tight, rager > Possum: Not a fan of this in the two slot in the second set. > The Man Who Stepped Into Yesterday: Love this tune, who doesn’t? But in the middle of the second set? > Avenu Malkenu > Big Black Furry Creature from Mars: Set is doomed. David Bowie: Super creepy/dark/evil in the late 9’s. Crowd is quite amped. This jam goes 3.0/Major key jam starts around 11:20. Back into normal Bowie territory at 12:00. Serious Trey trilling in the early 15’s. Strong finish. Above average Bowie for the era for sure. Wading in the Velvet Sea: Big fan of the placement knowing that there is a Hood that comes after this. Page sounds all emo at 1:53? Trey’s solo is exceptional > Harry Hood: This Hood is incredible! I have no idea how this has not been on my radar all these years as I have listened to this show a couple times before now. But this sucker punches HARD with HUGE peaks. The fact that it is not a jamcharts version is criminal. ENCORE: Funky Bitch, Messin' with The Kid: Good stuff! Second set summary: Another very long set, 83 minutes and the encore is long too clocking in at just under 18 minutes. Bowie is solid, Wading is poignant, and Hood is exceptional. The set itself is choppy in the first half but does recover. This show is a far cry from how hot the band was through 10.2 – as such I would rate this as just a 3.5 out of 5.
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by wavethatflag

wavethatflag Say what you will, but about 5:23 into "I Always Wanted It This Way" is some of the finest jamming, with Trey leading the way and the others laying the foundation, but then it really develops into a collaborative effort and is the height of group improvisation. This isn't a bad show, but the song selection especially later in the show will make many think it is.
, attached to 1999-10-02

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Llama: Smokes coming out of the gate. Trey has that effect akin to playing Zeppelin backwards like in Antelope the night before and countless other times on this tour. Big fan. Wolfman's Brother: Slow and funky, Mike owns this. Really strange version in that this one just fades into the ether; Trey does not take a solo at all. Weird. Punch You in the Eye: Killer, elongated intro, super cool; Fish tries to push them out of this, but Page and Trey aren’t having it. > Quinn the Eskimo: Great placement for this rare tune. Poor Heart: Peep Fish egging on Page during his solo. Roggae: Standard. Split Open and Melt: Is it just me or does Fish kick this off a beat slower than normal? Big, ol’ loop to kick the jam off! Jam hits second level in the mid 10’s, Trey’s effects are just so unique to this year/tour. This version does not have a traditional peak but that does not matter as what came before it was mind bending stuff. Fun banter after the song is over. Manny on the drums, what was that all about? Trey “ I am the good lieutenant and don’t you forget it.” The Squirming Coil > Loving Cup: How cool is it to pair these songs, they were made for one another. This combination has only been done at 11.30.97, 9.19.99, 12.17.99. But 10.2.99 and 12.17 are the only two shows where they paired these two up and employed a > segue in between them. And there really should not be a segue here in this show there is a full beat between Coil and the beginning of Loving Cup. Actually I just went and listened to 12.17 and there should not be a segue there either. Get it together .net, lol. First set summary: Has exceptional flow, everything I am looking for in a first set, this one has. SOAMelt is the obvious highlight. Great set! SET 2: Tweezer: Love, love, love this version. So patient and slow through 10. The eventual ramp up and pay off is huge and into… > On Your Way Down: This was paired perfectly with that Tweezer – both that same feel – slinky and slow. Well done! > Piper: Buckle up, it’s on from jump street as they have no patience or time to waste as they ramp this one up with the quickness. Impressive shredding. This one is ballistic all the way up to the 11-minute range or so. They find a great theme and roll with that from 11:45 through 14:07 and then pick it back up from 14:51 through 16:00, outstanding! > You Enjoy Myself: Nice groove! Awesome placement. Frankenstein: Standard. Waste: Best Waste ever? Trey shreds this version like crazy, very impressive. ENCORE: While My Guitar Gently Weeps > Tweezer Reprise Second set summary: Tweezer sets the tone, Piper is an all timer, YEM is solid, and Waste is an awesome closer. Tweezer, Piper, and Waste all have replay value for sure. Awesome set! As good as the first set was and that great SOAMelt, I love this show. It’s so cohesive and has big guns. I am happy to rate this as a 4.45 out of 5.
, attached to 1995-10-02

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Poor Heart, Wolfman's Brother, Rift: Straightforward and vanilla. Night Moves Jam > Night moves for chess move chat, great band! Stash: Solid yet unspectacular. Acoustic Army, The Fog That Surrounds, Theme From the Bottom: Standard. Tela: Beautiful version. Page changes a lyric. > David Bowie: Nice loops in the intro. Standard. First set summary: That is a forgettable set, nothing I would ever revisit unfortunately. SET 2: Wilson > Cars Trucks Buses, Bathtub Gin, Llama: Standard as they come. Simple: I like the spacey ending > Keyboard Army: Played in 4 of 5 shows on tour so far. Slave to the Traffic Light: Fishman on Electrolux in the early stage of the jam. Hello My Baby: Standard The Lizards: Interesting placement. Leading up to the Whoa whoa whoa vocals Trey and Page keep playing for a few more beats, it’s strange, it seems to be a screw up, it’s in the 7:20’s. Run Like an Antelope: Elongated quiet part before they launch into the noisy jam. Jam rages pretty well. Then some interesting stuff and effects leading up to the Rye, Rye, Rocco. Unique. ENCORE: A Day in the Life Second set summary: Simple and Antelope have replay value, I enjoyed both a good bit. Outside of that, nothing to see here; please disperse. Another tepid show as the tour is now five shows deep.
, attached to 1999-10-01

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Chalk Dust Torture: This Chalkdust lights the crowd on fire, it’s on! The Moma Dance > Sparkle, First Tube: Standard and Solid. Bathtub Gin: Big time hose jam. Crowd gets soaked thoroughly from 13 minutes on. Check out the 16-minute mark. Big time peak! This is an all-timer! Trey is a Jedi! Heavy Things: Standard. Limb By Limb: Ripped this one a bit. Cavern: Standard. First set summary: Tons of energy, crowd is very hyped. Heard many stories over the years how crazy the lot was pre-show. This surely spilled over to the show, fans sound like they are nuts. No ballads in the first set, lots of ragers, an all-time Gin and a strong Limb. Very nice first set. Here is a great thread on Ames, lots of lot stories: https://www.phantasytour.com/bands/phish/threads/4838775/10-1-99#page/1 SET 2: NICU: This was the 5th and last time NICU opened a second set. Fun fact. > Run Like an Antelope: Is that The Lion Sleeps Tonight tease at 2:45? Listen to how patient and slow that this jam opens and eventually evolves. That is what Phish has been missing since they came back in 2009. I don’t know why that is, but it is sorely missed. I love the effect Trey employs starting at 7:20, sounds like Zeppelin playing Stairway to Heaven backwards. Nice release at 10:49 out of a good amount of tension. Solid Antelope right there. The Horse > Silent in the Morning: Standard > Gumbo: Again, like Antelope; just listen to how patient this jam is. This jam revels in the mellow and the murk. 9:35 Trey on mini keyboard. But only briefly (thankfully). Jam is eventually getting louder at 10:20, Page banging on the baby grand. Just a minute later this mellows out again and one more minute later… > Mountains in the Mist: Lovely, fits perfectly. Beautiful. Julius: Check out Trey’s held not from 6:28 through about 7:05, impressive. They rip this Julius > Fluffhead: While not the most technically proficient version, this one has some heart. Listen to Trey’s Fluffhead vocal hold. End shred is very nice! > Slave to the Traffic Light: This is what we call perfect placement! How about these loops in the composed section, absolutely awesome to ratchet up the intensity and then into that pretties. God, I love this band. Cannot believe how this rowdy got so quiet in the 5:20’s, so much respect for the band. Listen to Trey at 6:55, this is perfection. 8:05 briefly sounds like Ramble On. The crescendo is crushed pretty well, a bit of difficulty but it’s all about the energy, y’all. That Gin in set one is straight fire. I know I am likely overrating this show, but my grade is a 4.4 out of 5. How’s them apples? ENCORE: Bold As Love: Perfection. Absolute perfection. Nothing says the band is feeling it (for me) like a well-placed Bold as Love. And there you have it, people. Second set summary: That set just really does it for me. No all-time versions of anything but everything is in its right place with the proper energy. Antelope, Gumbo, Mountains in the Mist, Fluff and Slave all have replay value for me.
, attached to 2000-10-01

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: First Tube: Not as much Trey shredding as I am used to. More groove based. Tired from Vegas… > Wolfman's Brother: Has a bit of that good, ol rageahol, but not enough to get one to revisit. Back on the Train: Fresh off the hiatus announcement, these particular lyrics were raw for me at this show: “Now I'm gone, and I'll never look back again, I'm gone, and I'll never look back at all, You know I'll never look back again” Standard version Beauty of My Dreams: Standard. Vultures: Standard. The Inlaw Josie Wales: Love this. Absolutely love it. Billy Breathes: First set is very first set. Trey struggles a good bit with this one. Hiatus looms. Llama: Trey was likely looking to blow off steam after his BB struggles and ripped this one wide open with crazy effects and sounds. “Smack yourself in the face, turn to the person next to you and smack that person in the face, make passionate love the person next to you” LOL LOL LOL Lawn Boy: Standard. Runaway Jim: Build this up to a big peak but unfortunately Trey is all out of tune and sounds bad. The effort is there but the execution is not. Hiatus looms. First set summary: Outside of the Llama, there is just nothing here at all of substance. The band is still recovering from Vegas. My buddies that I convinced to come with me to Phoenix instead of going home to Denver after Vegas are giving me the serious side eye at this point. SET 2: Roses Are Free: Great opener, now we are getting somewhere. But, short and standard > Piper: Rips so hard, absolutely shredded. 7 minute and change version slips into -> Guy Forget: Debut. Only the most astute fans could have known what was going on here. Whether or not you were in the know, the jam is fantastic and becomes the clear highlight of the show. Here is the link to the history of Phish and Guy Forget, it is quite comical and worth your 5 minutes to read this https://phish.net/song/guy-forget/history Fishman is AMAZING in the 9’s with his work on his kit and wood blocks, you must listen to this! This jam gets way, way out there in the ether with big, big loops. Outstanding stuff if you are into that less is more jamming, kind of sparse and ambient in a few spots in this jam, this segues nicely into… -> When the Circus Comes: Not a fan then or now really, did not need all this momentum to come to a screeching halt, many likely will not hold this view. Played beautifully though. > Camel Walk: My first Camel Walk, so I was pumped! Driver: The start/stop of the momentum of the second set is annoying at this point. Driver deep, deep in the second set? C’mon man. David Bowie: Decent Bowie except Trey in the ending is sloppy here and there but there is nothing here that I would revisit. Good closer though. ENCORE: Waste: Not going to lie, I loved this in the E: slot. My buddies that were not continuing on with me to Chula were not amused. At all. Their last song before hiatus. Second set summary: Piper -> Guy Forget and Camel Walk make this a decent set for me. But outside of that the set is choppy with little flow in the. Coming off of a solid show in Denver and two ragers in Vegas I knew there was a big chance of a letdown in Phoenix. That is what this show is. I would rate this as a 3.5 out of 5. It is rated as a 3.93 on .net, that seems generous. Or I am just a cranky, old man. Likely a little from column A and a little from column B.
, attached to 2000-09-30

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Walfredo: Technical difficulties held this one up. Those weren’t the only difficulties the band and us had on this night. Not sure about y’all, but I was WORE OUT from the night before and the morning of this show. And I was still in my twenties. And I know I didn’t party as hard as the band. I digress. Super cool Walfredo and surely, I will never see another. The Curtain With: Far from perfect but I loved it as I am sure most did. The band is showing the love to the folks at the show and those on the webcast too. Maze: Wheeeeew buddy, look out man. This one will rip your head right off. Seriously, just smokes! Going into Page’s solo, man...that loop and effect to set it into motion – money in the bank. Evil. Trey’s rhythm playing really pushes Page to his best. Totally egging Page on. Trey slays his solo! All that tension he builds, especially before the first peak and then just combusts into it. Won't soon forget it. Roggae: This chill tune was needed, perfect placement. Super annoying chompers showing up on this tape in Roggae, ugh. 4:50; incredible sounding effect. Trey and Mike playing off one another so well in this jam. I Didn't Know: Just call me Joe C, lol Mike's Song: No disrespect to the rest, but this Mike is all Trey. He shreds this version for 6 or so straight minutes, no second jam and it slams into… > Simple: Not much here unfortunately, couple minutes of jam and melts nicely into… > Saw It Again: After that Simple that went nowhere I was super pumped to hear this and thought this would be the perfect venue for it to finally go deep. No sir, not tonight unfortunately. Still scratch my head why this has only been jammed once, 12.12.97, seems like it would be a great jam vehicle? Esther: Hadn’t seen this since Buffalo 10.19.96 so I was pumped. “She died, she’s dead” > Weekapaug Groove: Trey, Mike and Fish have high energy in this jam, but Page sounds like he has low T, really low energy. This turns out into a really good jam that will be a standout for the evening. First Set Summary: Lots and lots to revisit here, Maze, Roggae, Mike’s and Weekapaug. Awesome set with major highlights and rarities. I don’t know how they pulled it off as they had to be running on empty. Great, great set. I mean, that is a second set masquerading as a first set. I bet we could all agree to that. SET 2: Timber (Jerry the Mule): Great opener! More dark energy. This jam has nice length to it, but it is quite mellow for the duration. AC/DC Bag: Here is what we need to ramp up the energy! “Carry me down, WAAAAAAAAAAAAY DOWN!” Wish Trey would have peaked this a lot more, the peak was rather tepid. He was probably pre-occupied with how he would handle what was to come next… Colonel Forbin's Ascent: Last time played was 8.7.98 Raleigh, 148 shows. I had not seen this since my first show 11.17.94 so I was over the moon and couldn’t wait for the narration. “And his blood shot eyes” and “And he dragged his WEARY s*** a** up the mountain” how appropriate for so many attendance!!! Trey definitely sounds nervous and emotional communicating about the hiatus. “Getting our home life together” hmmmm, interesting. > Fly Famous Mockingbird: Standard. Twist: Good solid jam and energy here > Sand: Boring, band is weary. > A Day in the Life: Huge bustout. Standard. ENCORE: Emotional Rescue: Huge bustout. The antics after the song are fun. Second set summary: Second longest show of the tour, second only to 9.17.00. Amazing they had enough in the tank to put this show together. Outside of the narration, there is nothing to come back to here in the second set. The first set definitely carries this show. Crazy two nights in Vegas. I was happy to be picking up stakes and moving on to Phoenix.
, attached to 1997-12-09

Review by radiator9987

radiator9987 This was a dark horse from 97. There are some fantastic runs with the Stash>I Am H> Weekapaug in the first set and Simple>Bowie Jam> Timber, a Timber that was vastly different than the one they played the night before with the Dayton almost going bliss and the Penn State getting a little dark. This is a top 5 Simple that covers so many spaces in its 30+ minutes.
, attached to 1995-09-30

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: My Friend, My Friend: Standard. Cars Trucks Buses: Now played in 4 straight shows. White Rabbit Jam: This is pretty cool. This jam is the backing music to Trey explaining how the chess match is going to work over the course of the tour. Tour head PüTzu gets the first move. He has a great review on .net of this show, check it out: https://phish.net/setlists/phish-september-30-1995-shoreline-amphitheatre-mountain-view-ca-usa.html > Reba: Played at the speed of light, seriously. Was Fishman trying to win a bet with Trey or something? Nuts. In the mid 8’s this takes on a bit darker and minor chord expedition but not for too long, perhaps 45 seconds to one minute. Then it explodes into familiar Reba jam territory and it’s a great, pent-up release. Uncle Pen: Standard. Horn: They play the Antelope intro for about 7 seconds then ditch it for Horn. Really strange. Other than that, this Horn is standard. Run Like an Antelope: Pretty standard to my ear, although it does take a brief left turn at 6.5. Gets fairly dark but just for about 30 seconds. It is back to being red hot and has killer trilling in the early 7’s, but for the era…kind of a run of the mill Antelope. I'm Blue, I'm Lonesome[1] Trey says "We wanted to send this one out. This is the last place, that personally myself and I know two other guys in the band, saw Jerry alive and we thought this would be a good opportunity to play one of his favorite songs cause I know he's up there listening. This is for you Jerry!" Beautiful nod to Jerry. Sample in a Jar: Listening to the opening notes ring out from Trey’s guitar. Absolutely gives me crazy goosebumps. That tone, so crisp and clear. Outstanding, takes me right back to my first couple of years seeing the band. First set summary: I enjoyed Reba, Antelope, and I’m Blue, I’m Lonesome. It’s a solid first set but surely won’t win any awards. SET 2: Runaway Jim: Trey referencing the chess match “The Portuguese defense, huh? HA! We will crush you!” Check out the crazy Trey scratching effects between verses – this goes on for 40-50 seconds, pretty cool and unique. Solid opener > The Fog That Surrounds: Standard. If I Could: > Gorgeous, awe inspiring. Why they won’t play this song like this anymore makes no sense to me. Listening to this version reminds me why I have been in love with this band for almost three decades. Scent of a Mule: Page for the win in the duel. Crazy effects at 8:10, woah. Mike's Song: First jam has the dark edge to it! Second jam is mostly boring space unfortunately where they are just doing what it takes to align for a segue into… -> Keyboard Army: Played in three of the first four shows of the tour. Weekapaug Groove: Trey employs that scratching again like in Runaway Jim but only briefly in the intro. Cool little breakdown at 5:25 that gets funky that melds into heavy metal at 6:15 and then back into traditional ‘Paug territory at 6:45 for a moment. Another breakdown and then an absolutely brilliant segue into… -> Suspicious Minds[2] Fun listening to some folks near/in the taper’s section realize the awesome segue and what the tune was. First time played seemed well received > Hold Your Head Up: 45 seconds > Cavern: Standard. ENCORE: Amazing Grace: Standard. Good Times Bad Times: Standard. Second set summary: I would happily revisit If I Could and Weekapaug Groove -> Suspicious Minds[2]. Outside of that there is nothing to sink my teeth into. Kind of like the first four shows of this tour, largely toothless. First night of Shoreline was the best of this two-night run. [1] Acoustic. [2] Phish debut. Trey teased Call to the Post before My Friend and Antelope before Horn. This show was the beginning of the Band/Audience Chess Match that continued throughout the fall tour. Page and a tour-head named "Pooh" played a few moves to set up the board during the White Rabbit jam in the first set. Suspicious Minds made its Phish debut. I’m Blue I’m Lonesome was dedicated to Jerry Garcia and was acoustic.
, attached to 1999-09-29

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Runaway Jim: Great opener. To me, this one is a great example of machine gun Trey. He just shreds this one to pieces. Outstanding Jim. > Free: This is my kind of Free, nice, and slow with Cactus leading and big loops to accompany it all. Similar to my favorite Free, 7.9.99. This one here is a great version! Driver: Standard. Taste: Trey and Page do a great job of building tension and then Trey unleashes the machine gun again. Good Taste. Dirt: Standard, love this tune so much. Nellie Kane: Standard, Stash tease. Stash: What’s that brief vocal from Trey at 2:10? Love the tension building breakdown that starts in the mid 7’s. Everyone plays a significant part, but I especially love Fish on the wood blocks. What this out of nowhere? -> I Can't Turn You Loose Jam: First I Can’t Turn You Loose since December 29,1997 (108 shows), when it also appeared as a jam. Cool I guess but would have preferred to have heard what that Stash could have done as it had all the earmarks of a good version. Trey announced a contest where the winner would receive four tickets and backstage passes to any show in the next year and, jokingly, a date with Fish. The question centered on what all of the songs played in the first set, with the exception of Driver, had in common. The answer was that all songs were in the Key of D. Happy Birthday was also played (for Trey) during the contest announcement. Theme From the Bottom: Standard, sounded great. > Tweezer Reprise: Well, this came out of nowhere. Guess they loved playing it so much the night before that they had to break it out again this night Or finally reprising the Tweezer from New Orleans? First set summary: Great one, two punch to open this show with the Jim > Free. Taste was very solid too. Kind of a lull with Dirt and Nellie, but that is fine and well earned. Tons of fun but outside of Jim > Free not much to revisit here. SET 2: Gotta Jibboo: Based on how slow this is out of the gate and into the jam, I would wonder how big the party was at set break? > Also Sprach Zarathustra: DIE DIE DIE. Total jam fest. All timer for sure. First jam doesn’t even hit until 12 minutes in! Mike’s bass is LIQUID after the first jam. Trey comes in behind him and it sounds like Hendrix is up on that stage. Super sick. > Down with Disease: This rips so unbelievably hard, Trey is a rock god. Check him out at 7:50 and tell me that doesn’t remind you of the DwD from 12.11.97 / Bittersweet Motel? This version is finish, outstanding DwD, would highly recommend. Billy Breathes: Breather is needed here. Good placement. Back on the Train: Standard. Long pause before the next song. Mike's Song: What is the theme that Trey is messing around with as the jam gets going? Jam sort of plods along redundantly when suddenly… > Catapult: Mike’s slams right into Catapult… > Mike's Song: Funky for 40 seconds then slams into… > Kung: Does it’s Kung thing and then slams back into… > Mike's Song: Right back into the funk but only momentarily before another slam into… > I Didn't Know: Vacuum Weekapaug Groove: Smoking but short. ENCORE: Cities[1] They had to play this and had some fun with the lyrics. Second set summary: One of the best 2001’s you will every hear, extended beyond belief. They summoned aliens on this night with this version. The DwD that follows will blister your behind, a phenomenal version. Tons or replay value there. The crazy stuff that happens with the Mike’s fest that happens is a ton of fun and must have been a blast in person. That Mike’s jam is super funky and it’s too bad that couldn’t have been explored a bit more, but I get it. I would rate this show as 4.3 out of 5. Jim, Free, 2001, DwD and the Mike’s fest have tons of replay value. Trey certainly had fun on his birthday in Memphis. [1] Altered lyrics. Stash ended with the first I Can’t Turn You Loose since December 29,1997 (108 shows), when it also appeared as a jam. Before Theme From the Bottom, Trey announced a contest where the winner would receive four tickets and backstage passes to any show in the next year and, jokingly, a date with Fish. The question centered on what all of the songs played in the first set, with the exception of Driver, had in common. The answer was that all songs were in the Key of D. Happy Birthday was also played (for Trey) during the contest announcement. Cities was an appropriate choice as an encore for Memphis, and Trey altered the lyrics a bit for the occasion.
, attached to 2000-09-29

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Carini: Energy pre-show was super intense. People were ready to get down and thoroughly prepared to do so. The opening notes of Carini shook Thomas & Mack, fans were in full throat, yours truly included these being my first Phish shows in Sin City. Fish straight up SCREAMING Carini Had a Lumpy Head at the end. Nuts. Rift: Not perfect by any stretch, but the effort and energy are all there. Frankenstein: Awesome in the three hole, just ratchets up the energy that much more if that was even possible. Scrambled my eggs BIG TIME. Mellow Mood: The irony of this being played at one of the bands more rock and roll shows of all time is not lost on me. Good stuff. Probably good they gave us a breather because folks were bouncing off the walls. Wilson[1] 4.5 minutes in and this one is just…different than most versions. Gets ugly and sinister, absolutely brilliant! Has such an edge to it, evil Phish. > Spock's Brain: Way, way, way out of left field. Took me a good minute to figure it out. Huge bust out. > Bathtub Gin: Out of the composed section the jam is speedy and upbeat. A slower pace is recognized around 9 minutes and the Chicagoans in attendance get the rest of us to clap along and band obliges. Mike is owning faces in this segment and beyond. The peak is incredible, not sure why this version has generated a bit more love over the years. If I could bottle the feeling I had during this and sold it, I would be a billionaire. Cloud nine > Character Zero: Rock stars, arena rock stars. Just crushed. First set summary: I was floored! Regarding replay value, I would definitely advise anyone reading to checkout Wilson and Gin. Both are fantastic. But I had a ton of fun relistening to the whole thing just now remembering so much of what happened from 22 years ago. At set break, spirits were soaring. The wave got going and a frisbee was being tossed for the narrow side of the second deck, across the floor and over to the other side of the arena in the second deck. Ever seen that happen? Nuts! SET 2: Dinner and a Movie: Another epic bust out, last played was the Slip, Stich and Pass show first since March 1, 1997, or 242 shows. What a way to come out of the set break swinging a very heavy bat! The Moma Dance: This Moma rages in a way that few ever have or will. It is just incredibly fierce. Words won’t do it justice, but you listening to it will. Little space jam tacked on to the ending > Also Sprach Zarathustra: The place is melting at this point and grooving as one. Super cool to be a part of this. Walk this Way tease early on. > Fluffhead: Pretty well played and big, ol’ end shred has the arena on fire. Cool little space jam into… > Meatstick: Standard > Walk This Way[2] When Kid came out, I was disappointed. I felt like the show was on its way to all timer type territory if they played a couple more bangers. But oh well. Screechy screech time. Rapper's Delight[2] Fishman antics were funny You Shook Me All Night Long[3] Screeeeech ENCORE: We're an American Band[4] I had badly wanted to see this since hearing the tapes from 11.16.96. The alternate lyrics were…eye opening. Second set summary: Moma, whew buddy, so much replay value there and really through Meatstick is just a ball. So much fun and the band and the fans are intimately connected throughout. The Kid Rock stuff has kind of grown on me over the years, it is what it is. I love this show, always will and likely have severe attendance bias. With the Wilson, Gin and Moma standouts I would rate this a strong 4.1 out of 5. [1] Heavy metal jam. [2] Phish debut, Kid Rock on guest vocals. [3] First Phish performance in its entirety, Kid Rock on guest vocals. [4] Kid Rock on guest vocals. Wilson included a heavy metal jam, complete with Trey waving his guitar in the air. Kid Rock provided guest vocals from Walk This Way through the encore. Walk This Way and Rapper’s Delight (with funny stage antics from Fish, who danced on his knees like Kid’s sidekick Joe C.) were Phish debuts. You Shook Me (All Night Long) was played in its entirety by Phish for the first time, although it had been jammed on other occasions. Walk This Way was also teased during 2001. Spock’s Brain (first since June 24, 1995, or 391 shows), Dinner and a Movie (first since March 1, 1997, or 242 shows), and American Band (first since November 16, 1996, or 271 shows) returned after long absences. The Carini opener was preceded by a Wilson tease and saw Trey have several problems with his guitar. Meatstick featured Mike and Trey doing the Meatstick dance.
, attached to 1995-09-29

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, FRIDAY 09/29/1995 GREEK THEATRE Los Angeles, CA Soundcheck: Jam, Dog Log, Funk Jam > Funky Bitch, Poor Heart SET 1: AC/DC Bag: Hot fire to get this show off on the right foot > Sparkle: Standard > Divided Sky: Fall 95 perfection. Strange Design: Nice cool down and chance to catch your breath. Cars Trucks Buses: Three shows in a row. You Enjoy Myself: Love the placement. After the composed section, the jam starts off pretty quiet but builds into a screamer as you would expect. Sweet Adeline: Standard. Suzy Greenberg: Hot closer. First set summary: Very solid. This is a well-constructed setlist and the playing is great. I don’t have anything that I would revisit necessarily, but that is not a demerit on the tunes and the playing. SET 2: Also Sprach Zarathustra: Nice and spacey with some nice loops and effects > Maze: Absolutely smoked! Trey sounds so good! Free: Not a big fan of this era of Free, just sort of drones on to my ears as does this version. Ya Mar: I know they used to play this tune a good bit in the second set but that largely disappeared starting with US 98 summer tour. I am not a big fan of the placement here. Playing is fine though. Split Open and Melt: This one does in fact get out there a decent bit, nothing too crazy but still hold on to your hat. Trey does seem to rip chord the ending a bit and catching the others by surprise? Billy Breathes: Three shows in a row. Set is now officially choppy. Beautifully played though. Hold Your Head Up > Cryin'[1] > Hold Your Head Up: LOL at Fish’s commentary before Cryin: “Alright I’m not too proud, I don’t know the words to this song, so I have my cheat sheet. The fact that I don’t know the words isn’t the point.” LOL!!! Page: “That wasn’t too bad” Trey: “That was for Bert Goldstein” A Day in the Life: Standard. ENCORE: Chalk Dust Torture: Standard face melter. Not seen in the encore slot since 7.14.94 at Finger Lakes. Trey at the end “We apologize for that guy” Did some wook jump up on stage? Second set summary: No flow, too choppy. For me, I feel like I would go back and listen to 2001 > Maze and SOAMelt, but that’s it. The show is solid 95 fare but the setlist construction leaves something to be desired. As such, I would rate this show as a 3.6 out of 5. [1] Phish debut. Cryin’ made its Phish debut at this show. In the soundcheck, Dog Log was performed in a funk style and Poor Heart was a cappella.
, attached to 2019-12-30

Review by Pagegrrl34

Pagegrrl34 This Tweezer. I can't love this band more than I do during this monster. Around 22:30-ish > 23:00 I swear I hear Morning Dew. The entire show is tits but the 2nd set is everything because of the Tweezer. They are so locked in and we reap all the blissful orgasmic JOY. We are beyond lucky to have found this band. Nobody beats Phish. No one ever could. 31:00-32:00 reminds us why we will always love Trey.
, attached to 1999-09-28

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround OAK MOUNTAIN AMPHITHEATRE Pelham, AL SET 1: Wolfman's Brother: Crowd is super pumped before the start of this. Composed section is really snapping and popping, Mike sounds GREAT. Big ol’ loop at 9:15. Solid jam, nothing that will knock your socks off with historic respect regarding this song – but what a way to get this show underway! Sneakin' Sally Through the Alley[1] – Not played since Oswego, 26 show gap. Nice, funky little jam but this doesn’t really merit being on jamcharts, right? Tube: Pretty much any version from 99 is bound to impress. This one is no different. Ginseng Sullivan: Standard > Roggae: Mike dropping big bombs! Maze: Smokes! Must have left many craters. Wading in the Velvet Sea: Perfect placement and played perfectly, would re-listen for sure – this one has something extra. Harry Hood: Unbelievable version. I hold this version in high regard. Great version regardless of ANY era. To close a first set is extra special. Trey gushes about how much they love the venue. ‘Don’t do anything we wouldn’t do.’ SET 2: Farmhouse: Has that extra something, played with a lot of heart and emotion. Great opener! Heavy Things: Standard. First Tube: Energy is through the roof at this point. Fans are frothing at the mouth, and then… Tweezer: Fans are rewarded! Just the third of four Tweezer’s played on the entire tour. Sick loops employed to kick the jam, multiple layers. Headspace!!!! Trey and Mike team up in the 8- and 9-minute range to perfection, playing off one another. Just incredible. Trey is lead in the latter 9-minute range. I LOVE how the loops remain constant through the jam, always present and adding an extra edge. Trey lays back in the 11.5-minute range, deferring to Page. But a theme is discovered largely by Trey in the early 12’s. 13 even Trey breaks everyone out of this loudly and the fans love it, but this is brief, and they delve back into that theme. The fans are son engaged that a Chicago style clap along comes about around 14:50, and the band completely follows the fans, so awesome!!!!!!! > Makisupa Policeman: Huge ovation once Makisupa is realized Key word schwaaaaaag There are so many cool effects going on in this one, for me; it is difficult to tell who is doing what. I love that! Trey on mini keyboard at 5:13 but only briefly. This jam is lengthy and awesome. Great pick for Live Bait volume 19. Chalk Dust Torture: What a jolt to the system coming out of that mellow Makisupa jam. They are briefly out of sync in the early going, but only briefly. Fans going off throughout – this show has SOOOO much energy. Little sloppy towards the end, but it is all about the ENERGY. You Enjoy Myself: Wow. Could not be a better set closer. Absolute perfection. Nirvana section is sublime and patient. 5 minute mark Page and Trey get pretty crossed up but just briefly. The funk jam that breaks out here is to die for. Imagine fans were just getting down so hard to this. At 17 minutes they go for the vocal jam. ENCORE: Halley's Comet: Sloppy, Trey struggles a good bit > Tweezer Reprise: Ripped! Second set summary. Wow, just wow. This show is one I will hold near and dear as long as I can breathe yet did not attend. From the opener to the closer, the band recognizes energy and returns it in spades. Beautiful night in Alabama. It’s cool how Phish can light crowds on fire outside of their traditional strongholds and this show is a perfect example. Fantastic set and show. Would rate this higher than I know most would: 4.5 out of 5. Fight me! [1] No vocal jam. The YEM vocal jam included Sweet Home Alabama quotes.
, attached to 1995-09-28

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SUMMER POPS, EMBARCADERO CENTER San Diego, CA Soundcheck: Gumbo, All Things Reconsidered, Mound, The Fog That Surrounds, Hello My Baby Fair warning, the source on the Relisten App is rough in that there is a ton of crowd noise seemingly right on top of this microphone. SET 1: Cars Trucks Buses: Played on back-to-back nights. Runaway Jim: Nicely ripped! Billy Breathes: Played on back-to-back nights. Scent of a Mule: Standard. Stash: Not much going on here, played very close to the vest. Fee[1] Standard -> The Fog That Surrounds: This is version you need to hear simply for the comic relief. Fish completely forgets his lyrics and they literally have to restart the whole tune. Trey was like, Fish I think you need to redo, that – we are going to redo that – or something like that. Funny stuff. They egg Fish on with some HYHU stuff, lol. Acoustic Army: Standard Slave to the Traffic Light: This was rock solid, loved what I just heard. At this point in their career, Slave had only closed a first set three times: 4.27.84, 4.24.94, 6.7.95. First set summary: I enjoyed Runaway Jim and Slave. Both I would relisten to again. SET 2: Theme From the Bottom: Standard > Poor Heart: Standard. If you are listening to the source on the Relisten app, the crowd noise right on top of this taper’s microphone is brutal. Don't You Want To Go? Standard. Last time played ☹ Tweezer: Standard. There isn’t much to sink your teeth into here at all. The last couple of minutes get a bit out there and then segue into… > Keyboard Army: Standard. Amazing Grace: Standard. Sample in a Jar: Standard. This deep in the second set, c’mon man. Run Like an Antelope: Standard, short, curfew’d? ENCORE: Fire: Standard. Super short curfew and a short Antelope = must have been up against the clock. [1] Trey sang verses through megaphone. HYHU was teased after Fog That Surrounds. Second set summary: Nothing at all grabbed me – nothing that I would ever come back to unfortunately.
, attached to 2000-09-27

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Sample in a Jar: Good energy out of the gate. My Friend, My Friend: Cool little jam tacked on to the end. Beauty of My Dreams > Standard My Soul: Slower and jazzy intro. This version rocks. Limb By Limb: Trey absolutely CRUSHES this, absolutely a highlight. Just smokes! Dirt: Good place for a breather after that Limb face melter. Split Open and Melt: Don’t sleep on this version, it flies under the radar but is a rocking version. I was blown away by it at the show in the moment. Horn: Had forgot how badly Trey struggles on this one, he has a multiple Marty McFly disappearing hand moments. Ouch. They also mess up the vocals at the end. Taste: Standard. Cavern: Standard. First set summary: Good flow and energy throughout. Limb by Limb and SOAMelt have replay value for sure. Solid set. SET 2: Piper: Check out the tension they build at 5:37 and then just explode at 5:58. I LOVE IT, makes me smile every time I hear it and it’s something I want to hear in every Piper I have heard since this night. The effects that start at 10:13 – some of my favorite Phish happens from here through the end, just incredible. > Gumbo: I love the chill theme they get on to at 5:45 and ride that through 7:25. 12:17 Trey power chords and Fishman egging him on for harder, faster, louder. Epic. > Ghost: This Ghost is no slouch, very underrated. Pretty aggressive version, especially for the time period. Total face melter right here! > The Mango Song: Nicely jammed. Heavy Things: Groaned then and groaned just now. Really long pause after this before they start up Brother… Brother: Huge bustout, 153 gap since last played at 7.28.98 You Enjoy Myself ENCORE: Loving Cup [1] No "Myfe" ending. The My Friend ending did not contain the "Myfe" lyric. Brother was played for the first time since July 28, 1998 (153 shows) after which Trey commented, “That song is all about the ending.”
, attached to 2022-09-25

Review by BrotherOpener

BrotherOpener Soundcheck from my sonic vantage in the west porch: I Never Needed You Like This Before, I Never Left Home (!), hey stranger, Julius. Julius was fully played; they were working out ideas for that one. Great show. It was my birthday, surrounded by excellent friends and love, weather was stellar. Got my birthday Jibboo too!
, attached to 2022-09-25

Review by BrotherOpener

BrotherOpener Soundcheck from my sonic vantage in the west porch: I Never Needed You Lije Thus Before, I Never Left Home (!), hey stranger, Julius. Julius seemed like it was fully played; they were working out ideas for that one. Great show. It was my birthday, surrounded by excellent friends and live, weather was stellar. Got my birthday Jibboo too!
, attached to 1993-03-05

Review by kipmat

kipmat I agree with @DollarBill's review, this is an excellent show to check out if you're looking for something off the beaten path from 1993. The spreadsheet source is an above-average AUD. Just wanted to add that Southern Methodist University is located in Dallas, where Page attended between 1982-1984. NFL Hall of Fame running back Eric Dickerson had earned first team All-American honors while at SMU in 1982, so Trey takes a moment after Stash to acknowledge the connection Page and Eric Dickerson share. Although in retirement Eric Dickerson has been an advocate for addressing racial injustice in college and professional football, he had received suspensions in 1990 and 1991 for refusing to submit to a team physical, allegedly due to sustained drug use. Perhaps that's why the Bowie intro also features an Eric Dickerson reference, with Page quipping, "Lotta memories..." ;-)
, attached to 1995-09-27

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, WEDNESDAY 09/27/1995 CAL EXPO AMPHITHEATER Sacramento, CA Soundcheck: Funky Bitch (one and a half times), Jam, The Fog That Surrounds SET 1: Wolfman's Brother: Standard. Rift: Standard > Free: Nicely jammed! Has some length to it coming in at 9:12. It's Ice: Gets pretty sinister there for a moment or two, nice and creepy. > I Didn't Know: Henrietta on Trombone. The Fog That Surrounds: Trey – “Some of you may think you know this song, but you don’t.” Strange Design: Standard Chalk Dust Torture: Standard. The Squirming Coil: Awesome Page solo, feel like this is one of the longest I have heard? First set summary: I would venture to say that this is a solid opening set of the tour. Free and Coil both caught my ear and would he happy to listen to both again in the future. SET 2: Cars Trucks Buses: Debut. AC/DC Bag: Nicely jammed, has a bit of length to it. David Bowie: Page and Trey are amazing at creating tension here in the early going. This is a very solid Bowie to my ears; has everything I have come to want and expect of this song over the years. Really good jam. Billy Breathes: Debut. Keyboard Army: Debut. Harry Hood: This Hood is going along as you would expect when it sort of takes a left turn onto a darker path and lingers here for a bit. It then goes back to what you would expect of a Hood jam and has a nice peak. Then when you would expect it to start the wrap up process, it meanders back into a mellow, spacy jam and then ends. Leaves you wanting more and a bit of a head scratcher, and if I recall correctly, the same feeling that the Spokane Hood left me with. Hello, My Baby: Debut and dedicated to Pete Schall. A Day in the Life: Standard ENCORE: Possum: Definitely a ’95 face melter, highly recommended! Second Set Summary: Pretty cool set, yet uneven. Bag, Bowie, Hood, and Possum all have replay value. Lots of debuts. This show only rates as a 2.8 on .net which seems quite harsh. To me this is a nice, average show for the era. It has something for everyone and for my money – 6 tunes that I would go back and listen to. Good tour opener on one of the best tours ever. Let’s get the show on the road indeed! This tour opener brought the first performances of The Fog That Surrounds, Cars Trucks Buses, Billy Breathes, Keyboard Army, and the Phish debut of Hello My Baby (which was dedicated to Pete Schall). I Didn’t Know featured Fish on trombone. Trey teased Slipknot! in David Bowie. Harry Hood was unfinished. Possum contained Johnny B. Goode teases from Trey.
, attached to 1994-10-29

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ Only two nights before the fellas would tear down Glenn Falls and begin one of my favorite Phish traditions, they left a massive crater in Spartanburg, SC. The post-Halloween back half of Fall '94 typically gets a little more love, but the October shows certainly have their moments, not the least of which is 10/29. MFMF opens with some very strong Fishman and a fun outro jam that was typical of the time. Runaway Jim and Foam provide two more mid-set highlights with more tremendous drumming and some spectacular Trey. The Melt->Buffalo Bill->Makisupa->Rift sequence is a super unexpected conglomeration of tunes, but the band manages to make them flow super well. SOAM builds and shreds in a fashion typical of '93 before dissolving to sonic chaos (an approach to the jam that Trey seems to have revived this past summer). The ship then crash lands into a playful groove and evolves into Buffalo Bill (a subtle hint to the White Album show that would follow). This transitions naturally to a spacy Makisupa, which peaks up speed and energy, teasing BBFCFM before Trey takes us to Rift. I think this is the only time Rift has closed a set, fun fact. With all the excitement packed into the first set, it's obvious the band is dialed in. DwD opens in classic '94, ferocious fashion, but appends an extended, ambient outro that gives way to TMWSIY. Out of the reprise of this tune emerges an awesome Sparks, which is always an omen for a banger of a show. A couple tunes later, YEM absolutely blows the roof off. Played just a tad slower than some other '94 versions, this YEM leans harder on the funk side than the rock side and features a really excellent Page solo section. The B&D extends coolly into the VJ as well. The Antelope->Sleeping Monkey->Antelope finale is another unorthodox segue pairing, but works extremely well. Trey's May the Force Be With You tease is a sweet touch, and can be heard again in the Glenn Falls Soundcheck Jam from 10/31. As the jam charts point out, the Hood encore is one of great company in the Fall '94 HOF. Excellent ascent from the valley to the peak, driven in large part by the rhythm section. Show's available in SBD in Relisten, go check it out.
, attached to 2022-09-23

Review by nerd767

nerd767 Great show, first Phish-adjacent show I've been to. I thought the first set was the better of the two but it is fantastic throughout. It was also pretty neat that 6 1/2 minutes debuted. The highlight for me is Gotta Jiboo, the section of the lawn I was on went crazy when Trey hit the siren. The other highlight was coincidentally the other set closer; Sand. I loved the solo. The band is was very locked in with few mistakes I could notice. Highlights: Gotta Jiboo, Sand, Ghost, Everything's Right
, attached to 1999-09-26

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Sweet Virginia: Debut of the Rolling Stones songs. Drugzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz First Tube: Standard > AC/DC Bag: First Bag since the forever famous Boise Bag! Could there be another nutty version to follow up on that one? NEIN. Dirt: The intro with the whistling and vocals…off. They sound – ahem – wasted. Michael Ray was in the house, so... Guyute: Standard. Bouncing Around the Room: Standard. Cars Trucks Buses, Funky Bitch, Mozambique, Cavern: Tim Green guest spot is awesome. Michael Ray is ok, light years better than 9.9.00. First set summary: Nothing here for me to revisit. Guest spots went on too long. Nothing to revisit. SET 2: Twist: This version is just straight up rock and roll, Trey leading the charge the whole way. No him sitting in the back, mini keyboard, and loops. No sir. This Trey is aggressive and goes for the throat. He lights the world on fire with the end shred on this one. Must hear version! The fact that this is not in jamcharts is laughable and criminal. > Piper: Another Trey led rock fest. In your face and aggressive, but short. Mountains in the Mist: For those in attendance, I imagine this breather was needed as the previous 25 minutes were hard core. Heavy Things: Brutal placement. That’ll leave a mark. Not only that but this one is slow and listless. Call to the Post teases after Heavy Things is over. Birds of a Feather: Call to the Post tease at 4:02. This jam starts of very quiet. Trey and Mike playing off one another nicely. 7:35 Trey lays back and Page takes the lead while Trey creates a loop. Trey seems tentative here and there. Uncertain where to go and what to do. Around 9:30 is where everyone picks up the pace and collectively shreds through the ending. This is a decent jam. Meat: Horrible placement. Down with Disease: This is one of the shreddiest versions you will ever hear. Trey is a rock God here. Do yourself a favor and check this one out, it will blister your behind. ENCORE: Meatstick: Standard > Rocky Top: Standard [1] Phish debut. [2] Michael Ray on trumpet and Tim Green on saxophone. Sweet Virginia made its Phish debut at this show. The last four songs of the first set featured Michael Ray on trumpet and Tim Green on saxophone. Call to the Post was teased before and during Birds. Trey teased Meatstick at the end of Rocky Top. Second set summary: Really up and down. Shows like this is where you wish they would have a setlist written down and stick to it. Twist, Piper and DWD all smoke. Birds is decent. If you are looking for Type II jamming, just keep on moving, nothing to see here – please disperse. If you want shreddy jams, then you will find some gems in here. For me, this show is below average. I would rate it a 3.2 out of 5.
, attached to 1999-09-25

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Tube: couldn't pick a better opener than this tune right here. Short and sweet. > Runaway Jim: Nice little jam here this early in the set and the show has tons of energy. Ya Mar: Nice little jam. Horn:Standard. Limb By Limb:at 8:20 Trey hits a subtle loop and the jam takes a cool direction. However this only last for about a minute or so and then they cruise back into familiar territory for this song with high energy jamming. Salad jammin one that I would likely revisit. On Your Way Down: This tune was made for Page's vocal range, just perfect. Sleeping Monkey: awesome dedication, does anybody know this young woman? > Wilson:Rages! First set summary: not a lot to revisit here outside of the Limb by Limb. The Relisten app source of the AKG480's sounds GREAT. SET 2: NICU: Only opened set two three times before, 11.30.97, 12.13.97 and 12.31.98. Trey is having a blast with many Leo callouts. -> David Bowie:Huge loops in the intro. Sinister and evil. The loops that kick off the jam are SICK. Oddly enough this one goes major key for a couple of minutes in the midst of the jam. Pretty odd for a 1.0 Bowie. Not a huge fan of the ending coda in this one, feels rushed. I will say I am a huge fan of this one being in the two hole in the second set, great placement. The Squirming Coil I love the placement of this coming up off of that strong version of David Bowie. there's actually a very cool little jam in this version definitely has replay value! > Prince Caspian trey's vocals are very shaky coming out of the gate here. This is an incredible version, absolutely soaring! trey just rips this one to shreds. > Rock and Roll: Standard, huge loops > Also Sprach Zarathustra Absolutely brilliant. Outer space and beyond. Has the DIE DIE DIE effect. > Frankenstein: standard > Julius: Standard ENCORE: Character Zero: Standard Second set summary: there are some really high points in the second set such as David Bowie and 2001 and I really liked squirming coil but they just failed to take this to the next level and had ample opportunity to do so. As such I would rate this show as a 3.75 out of five. Before Monkey, Trey and Mike pulled a woman out of the crowd who had been calling for Sleeping Monkey; the band then played the song for her.
, attached to 2000-09-25

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Everybody's Got Something to Hide Except Me and My Monkey: Cool little jam, had to have caught everyone by surprise. Down with Disease: Holy Toledo – what a way to start a first set!!! First ten minutes is raucous, but the rest is very boring. The Lizards: Not the tightest version I have ever heard but tough to complain about this song in the three slot in the first set. Tweezer: The jam right out of the gate is eerily reminiscent of the July 15, 1998, California love version. Mike truly owns this segment. 97 cow funk at 13:13 to start closing this one out. I really like this Tweezer. Back on the Train: Standard. Water in the Sky: Standard Bug: Standard Julius: Nicely jammed. First set summary: On paper this looks amazing. It is a solid first set and the tweezer is easily the highlight, and it has definite replay value. It's too bad they didn't do more with DwD. SET 2: Gotta Jibboo: This jam seriously rocks and is super underrated. There is never any lead up whatsoever. > Mike's Song: Solid > I Am Hydrogen: Classic. > Weekapaug Groove: Fish and Mike just dominate the middle portion of the jam, Page adding some nice color as well. Fantastic and patient jam. Trey takes the lead back at 8:45 and overdrive commences. This Weekapaug has tons of replay value! Axilla: they easily could have gone with a ballot here but instead they choose to keep the energy sky high, much appreciated! > Harry Hood: this is a below average version and it's weird that you can barely even hear the vocals at the end of the song > Funky Bitch: this tune has only closed a second set three times all of which were in the 1.0 era. 11.6.96 and 7.6.97. ENCORE: Boogie On Reggae Woman: Standard and very short. > Driver: Trey's dedication to the couple from the 7.28.98 is awesome! > Tweezer Reprise: ending the show on a serious high note! Second set summary: The show is always going to be a dark horse selection for me. It has long been criminally underrated. I think a lot of that has to do with the folks that attended the show it was outdoors it was cold and cannot remember if there was rain involved or not but certainly that played a large part in how people felt about the show. Tweezer and Weekapaug are both fantastic from the show. I mean, how cool is it that they open the show with Everybody's Got Something to Hide Except Me and My Monkey??? I would rate this show a 3.75 out of five. [1] Unfinished. Everybody’s Got Something To Hide was played for the first time since October 31, 1994 (434 shows). Disease was unfinished.
, attached to 2000-09-24

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround Mellow Mood: Cool opener. Chalkdust Torture: Short and sweet. Back at the Chicken Shack: Last time ever played. Sparkle: Only played twice on fall tour (Blossom) The Sloth: Cool! Only played twice on fall tour and…wait for it…also at Blossom! Divided Sky: Like peanut butter and chocolate, The Sloth and Divided Sky were meant for each other. Good version. Roggae: Dreamlike. First Tube: Good placement, set needed some punch. Punch You in the Eye: Interesting late first set placement. Like! Sample in a Jar: Ok, guess they are saving it all for the second set. First set summary: It’s not hateful but there is literally nothing here to revisit. At all. Cities: Subtle loop at 6:49. I see the clap along crowd from Chicago made the trip to MN. How could you clap along to this extremely mellow groove in the 8-minute range? Defies logic. Most think this is over at 9 minutes and applaud as if they are going to go to another tune. Nope. This jam is beyond mellow, enough to put you to sleep. This jam could almost be out of the Lemonwheel ambient set. I'm only half kidding. Free: This Free rocks big time. Mike thumps. Crowd eats it up. Ya Mar: What an incredibly odd place in the set for this tune. Carini: Rocks, good little jam. HYHU LOVE YOU HYHU: Fun with Fishman Cool it Down: RARE. Huge bust out. First time played since its debut at 10.31.98, 130 shows. This jam consists of a lot of boring strumming. Sleepwalking. David Bowie: Pretty strong Bowie and a great way to close the set. Encore: Fire: Rip roaring good time. Second set summary: This show just does not do it for me. Cities is the big highlight and it is too mellow for my tastes. Cool it Down has that big bustout cache going for it. Free, Carini and Bowie were all good. But certainly not great. I would rate this as a 3.3 out of 5.
, attached to 2000-09-24

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround Mellow Mood: Cool opener. Chalkdust Torture: Short and sweet. Back at the Chicken Shack: Last time ever played. Sparkle: Only played twice on fall tour (Blossom) The Sloth: Cool! Only played twice on fall tour and…wait for it…also at Blossom! Divided Sky: Like peanut butter and chocolate, The Sloth and Divided Sky were meant for each other. Good version. Roggae: Dreamlike. First Tube: Good placement, set needed some punch. Punch You in the Eye: Interesting late first set placement. Like! Sample in a Jar: Ok, guess they are saving it all for the second set. First set summary: It’s not hateful but there is literally nothing here to revisit. At all. Cities: Subtle loop at 6:49. I see the clap along crowd from Chicago made the trip to MN. How could you clap along to this extremely mellow groove in the 8-minute range? Defies logic. Most think this is over at 9 minutes and applaud as if they are going to go to another tune. Nope. This jam is beyond mellow, enough to put you to sleep. This jam could almost be out of the Lemonwheel ambient set. I'm only half kidding. Free: This Free rocks big time. Mike thumps. Crowd eats it up. Ya Mar: What an incredibly odd place in the set for this tune. Carini: Rocks, good little jam. HYHU LOVE YOU HYHU: Fun with Fishman Cool it Down: RARE. Huge bust out. First time played since its debut at 10.31.98, 130 shows. This jam consists of a lot of boring strumming. Sleepwalking. David Bowie: Pretty strong Bowie and a great way to close the set. Encore: Fire: Rip roaring good time. Second set summary: This show just does not do it for me. Cities is the big highlight and it is too mellow for my tastes. Cool it Down has that big bustout cache going for it. Free, Carini and Bowie were all good. But certainly not great. I would rate this as a 3.3 out of 5.
, attached to 1999-09-24

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround First Tube: At this point on the tour, they are playing this basically every other show. Not that this is a foreign concept for Phish. When they debut a tune and fall in love with it, they pound it into the ground. This one sounds like the rest, which is to say, super high energy and gets everyone dancing more than likely. Punch You In The Eye: Awesome one, two punch. Love this tune as an opener or early in the first set. Farmhouse: Good stuff, nothing out of the ordinary but solid. Water in the Sky: Page and Trey seem to have slight difficulty hooking up early in the jam. That is quickly resolved. The Moma Dance: Played a step slower out of the gate. Mike’s bass sounds awesome. Down with Disease: Interesting version. Once this quiets down, Trey’s strumming gets very repetitive while Page lays down some cool effects. As mentioned by Westbrook in a previous review, there are similar elements in this trippy section that are reminiscent of the Boise Bag. Pretty cool and worth a listen for sure. Roggae: Beautiful and A + placement. Back on the Train, Guyute, Loving Cup: All sound fine, interesting how Loving Cup has not been played in the first set since 8.9.04. First set summary: No replay value outside of that cool jam in DWD. Set is fine and well played, but very first setty. Peaches En Regalia: 3rd and final time played until busted back out again 12.2.09 at MSG. Possum: Not a huge fan of this placement. Wolfman’s: That’s more like it. Breaks out of its little funk pocket right before the ten-minute mark as Trey creates a loop. Bliss jamming at 12:00, reaching some major heights here. Considering how few and far between bliss jamming was employed back then, this is a real treat. 13:45 briefly re-visiting the original Wolfman’s structure. 14:30 really getting quiet and introspective now. Big, sonic loop. 15:25 Trey on mini keyboard. This melts away into -> The Lizards: Ladies and Gentlemen – THAT is how you Phish. Killer Wolfman’s into Lizards, sign me up! Sand: Interesting that the debut was super jammed out, but they wouldn’t really take it out for another jam ride until 12.8.99. Some really cool effects in the last 90 or so seconds, wish they would have kept that going but Trey sort of rip chords > Misty Mountain Hop: Not a huge fan. Page’s vocals, oof. Encore: Boogie On Reggae Woman: Theoretically cool in the encore slot but this one is pretty forgettable. Chalkdust Torture: Some awesome effects at 4:58 but they are here and gone quickly. Other than that, this is played pretty close to the vest. Cool in the encore slot though. Second Set Summary: Nothing grabs me outside of the Wolfman’s into Lizards which was seriously outstanding. The rest is just standard fare. This show is rated as 4.2 out of 5 on .net. Not feeling that at all, this is an average show. I would rate it a 3.5 out of 5. DwD and Wolfman’s have replay value. Rest of the show is solid yet unspectacular.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews
Support Phish.net & Mbird


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2022  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode